Room For Rent

IMG_20170920_175828416
Furnished room for rent with cat care duties. Available by Oct 1, 2017. $500 + shared utilities or best offer. Lease through January 2018 or ski season. Could go month to month after that if things go well.

I’m planning lots of travel late Oct – late Jan and beyond. My cats need help getting food and cleaning the litter box. Truckee/Tahoe appears short of good housing options, so its could be win-win-win to rent out my guest room.

House is 3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, 2000 sq ft with 2 car garage in a nice, quiet neighborhood.
exterior_front

IMG_20170920_175903532
Guest room has queen bed and dressers. Also have a study with desks and bunk beds.
Both those rooms are upstairs with a common bathroom.
IMG_20170920_180513655

Master suite on the main floor is mine.
Common areas include kitchen, great room, laundry, WiFi, printer, fax, shredder.
kitchen2

Garage is presently full of car + toys. Limited storage space is available though. You can park in the driveway. If you want to park indoors, I may have to charge extra for it, because I probably would need a storage unit. No street parking is available in my neighborhood.

Location is near the Truckee Regional Park.
1.1 miles to downtown TRU Amtrak station
0.5 mile to a bus stop
6.6 miles to NorthStar ski resort
12.2 miles to Squaw ski resort
Great location to access the 06 for snowshoes, XC, bikes, too.

I am an introverted, semi-retired professional who loves the outdoors and does a lot of computer stuff at home. I spend a couple hours a day in quiet concentration. Will socialize occasionally but need quiet time by 10pm. I plan to be up and out early for skiing in winter.

Every now and then I watch a movie on the big screen in the living room. I like many forms of music (not rap!) and sometimes listen to rock, bluegrass, classical, jazz, or soothing meditative music. And I own multiple sets of headphones 🙂

In general, would like to maintain a quiet, mutually respectful environment!

Rooms in similar houses seem to be going for $800/month plus a share of utilities, which can be substantial in winter. Price negotiable depending on cat care, cleaning, snow removal, and home maintenance you provide.

If you are a student, aspiring athlete, or otherwise in pursuit of heart-felt goals, I’d especially like to hear about it.

IMG_20170720_105934172_BURST001
Cats are 9 yr-old sibs who moved to Truckee in May.
One male, one female.
They can be out-going and sweet but they do lash out with their sharp claws at times.
Not good with children, dogs, or smaller pets.
One has digestive issues requiring special food and frequent visits to the litter box.
They are absolutely indoor-only so care must be taken entering and leaving the home.
I supply food, litter, and toys.

Duties take 2 hours per week total. Approx 10 minutes per day to check food / water and scoop litter box. Once a week, preferably Wednesday change litter box and clean floor which takes less than one hour. So about . Of course the cats will soak up any time you want to spend cuddling and playing with them.

Please read carefully:
No more pets.
No tobacco.
No smoking of any kind indoors.
No illegal activities of any kind.
No drama, please!
Background check and credit check required.
$500 deposit required.
At times, I have food-sensitive guests and need to refrain from strong spices while they are here.

Download the Rental Application

Email jackiep (at) jackieannpatterson.com with questions, or to set up a time to meet.